Latest Broadband Reviews

Your broadband reviews are crucial to helping Kiwis make an informed decision on their next broadband provider so please take 60 seconds to review your current NZ internet provider below. A review of your current provider allows the ISP’s to gather real feedback from customers and gives you the opportunity to highlight anything great or not so great that you may have experienced. Please submit a review below.

19 October 2020
Craig Holmes 7.8
text) > 500) : ?> Spark have been great over the years we've been with them but the price have been creeping up and now we want to go naked on the broadband and there's much better deals out there. ...read more Spark have been great over the years we've been with them but the price have been creeping up and now we want to go naked on the broadband and there's much better deals out there.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Big company. Reliable and efficient ...read more Big company. Reliable and efficient
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Too expensive compared to other providers ...read more Too expensive compared to other providers
19 October 2020
Alan 2.6
text) > 500) : ?> I was apalled to be told that it would take another 1.5 - 2 weeks for a second tier of technical help to get back to me to try to get my internet working. This was after the 1st tier provided a very low level of trouble shooting. I asked if they could send me out a new router to see if that was the issue however they said they absolutely could not do that. I had to wait 7 - 10 working days to hear from someone who could authorise sending one. They seemed to consider that this was acceptable service. We have three people working from home so internet is an essential service for us, however this made no difference. I had three choices, wait (no), change ISPs and hope they one could connect faster, or buy a new router to eliminate that as a problem. I bought a new router and with the settings provided by Contact it also didn't work. I tried other settings and with it setup on Static IP address it worked fine. I tried the old Contact modem with my settings, and that now worked, so Contact:
1. Consider that it's acceptable for customers to be without internet for two weeks
2. Don't know the settings for setting up their modems
3. Can't authorise anything, like a replacement modem, to help customers get back on-line earlier
4. Have pretty low level staff to respond to general technical problems, after that you wait internet free for up to two weeks.
5. Are woefully understaffed if it takes up to two weeks for a tech to call you back

When the service does work it is patchy and sometimes hangs up when just streaming one TV - wasn't fibre supposed to fix this?
So if that is all acceptable to you to then go ahead, choose Contact Broadband and have fun.
...read more I was apalled to be told that it would take another 1.5 - 2 weeks for a second tier of technical help to get back to me to try to get my internet working. This was after the 1st tier provided a very low level of trouble shooting. I asked if they could send me out a new router to see if that was the issue however they said they absolutely could not do that. I had to wait 7 - 10 working days to hear from someone who could authorise sending one. They seemed to consider that this was acceptable service. We have three people working from home so internet is an essential service for us, however this made no difference. I had three choices, wait (no), change ISPs and hope they one could connect faster, or buy a new router to eliminate that as a problem. I bought a new router and with the settings provided by Contact it also didn't work. I tried other settings and with it setup on Static IP address it worked fine. I tried the old Contact modem with my settings, and that now worked, so Contact:
1. Consider that it's acceptable for customers to be without internet for two weeks
2. Don't know the settings for setting up their modems
3. Can't authorise anything, like a replacement modem, to help customers get back on-line earlier
4. Have pretty low level staff to respond to general technical problems, after that you wait internet free for up to two weeks.
5. Are woefully understaffed if it takes up to two weeks for a tech to call you back

When the service does work it is patchy and sometimes hangs up when just streaming one TV - wasn't fibre supposed to fix this?
So if that is all acceptable to you to then go ahead, choose Contact Broadband and have fun.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Price ...read more Price
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Really, really, really poor customer service and time frames. Totally unacceptable for an essential service provider. Internet speeds and connection are patchy. ...read more Really, really, really poor customer service and time frames. Totally unacceptable for an essential service provider. Internet speeds and connection are patchy.
19 October 2020
Nigel 9.2
text) > 500) : ?> Needed some info. Fast and friendly. Yet another positive interaction with "the" great team ...read more Needed some info. Fast and friendly. Yet another positive interaction with "the" great team
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Accurate information in a timely manner ...read more no
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> ...read more no
17 October 2020
Anne Morel 7.0
text) > 500) : ?> Not great coverage within the home from room to room which is sad. ...read more Not great coverage within the home from room to room which is sad.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Great prices ...read more Great prices
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Not great coverage room to room ...read more Not great coverage room to room
17 October 2020
Shamim Shakur 8.4
text) > 500) : ?> Reliable service provider ...read more Reliable service provider
16 October 2020
STEPHEN BEAZLEY 3.2
text) > 500) : ?> I spent nearly 2 years on the phone being passed around a call center t try and log a fault. Then one evening I asked to speak to a supervisor. I didn't get to talk to the supervisor as the call taker gave me PO to get a hot spot device with some credit on it so I had internet access finally. Not happy with these guys. I was unable to get another provider, for years as I found out when Contact Energy phoned me back and said my address was not listed as having a Fiber connection as Northpower had not updated their records. So between the 2 companies I've had to put up with sub standard internet service at a high cost to myself. ...read more I spent nearly 2 years on the phone being passed around a call center t try and log a fault. Then one evening I asked to speak to a supervisor. I didn't get to talk to the supervisor as the call taker gave me PO to get a hot spot device with some credit on it so I had internet access finally. Not happy with these guys. I was unable to get another provider, for years as I found out when Contact Energy phoned me back and said my address was not listed as having a Fiber connection as Northpower had not updated their records. So between the 2 companies I've had to put up with sub standard internet service at a high cost to myself.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Thank you Contact energy for talking to me to find this out. ...read more Thank you Contact energy for talking to me to find this out.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Vodafone ...read more Vodafone
16 October 2020
John 6.6
text) > 500) : ?> I don’t like their payment method, you are forced to give them your credit card number, and they take their payment.
You have no control. ...read more I don’t like their payment method, you are forced to give them your credit card number, and they take their payment.
You have no control.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> ...read more
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Payment method, speed not as advertised. ...read more Payment method, speed not as advertised.
14 October 2020
Stephen Wilsol 7.8
text) > 500) : ?> Love the attention and service from the smaller ISP's and not being a number with one of the big boys, my switch has been smooth as, here's hoping the great start I've had continues ...read more Love the attention and service from the smaller ISP's and not being a number with one of the big boys, my switch has been smooth as, here's hoping the great start I've had continues
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> good router, great communications ...read more good router, great communications
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> wish they offered netflix bundle ...read more wish they offered netflix bundle
13 October 2020
Anonymous 1.0
text) > 500) : ?> My electric ity was cut off because they had taken over my power and I didn't sign up for the power plan. There WiFi is slow and I am completely enraged about this. ...read more My electric ity was cut off because they had taken over my power and I didn't sign up for the power plan. There WiFi is slow and I am completely enraged about this.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> ...read more
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Everything. ...read more Everything.
12 October 2020
Elizabeth Strang 2.6
text) > 500) : ?> I have not been able to get a dial tone or use my landline for past few months. I found it frustrating to have to communicate by email only and to be told that if Flip called on Chorus to check outside lines I would be charged a False callout fee if no fault could be found. ...read more I have not been able to get a dial tone or use my landline for past few months. I found it frustrating to have to communicate by email only and to be told that if Flip called on Chorus to check outside lines I would be charged a False callout fee if no fault could be found.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Flip have a reasonable fee for Broadband and a landline of around $69 per month. I also enjoyed being able to make free NZ toll calls from my landline ...read more Flip have a reasonable fee for Broadband and a landline of around $69 per month. I also enjoyed being able to make free NZ toll calls from my landline
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Lack of service, having to email rather than sort issues out over the phone, slow to respond/reply to issues ...read more Lack of service, having to email rather than sort issues out over the phone, slow to respond/reply to issues
Showing 10 of 2053 reviews

Leave a review of provider

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
Slingshot Exclusive Offer
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $64.95/mth
Plus Bundle Discounts
Terms and Conditions apply
offer
Unlimited Broadband from just $69/mth
Plus FREE Amazon Prime Video
and Prime Gaming for a year!*
Limited-time offer. T&C's apply
offer
Get $300 Credit and pay from 73$/mth for Vodafone Unlimited Broadband!
Limited time only
T&C's apply